Healthy Sugar Free Cinnamon Rolls

Oh my goodness.

Just take a look at that beauty.

 

Ok let me take a breath.

I have found everything I was looking for. I have found the holy grail.

I have loved Cinnabon forever and ever and it has been a dear part of my life ever since I moved to the UAE. I fell in love with those cinnamon buns… They kept me coming back for more. More. More. And I never realised how full of sugar, fat and carbs they are filled with… But I loved them with my dear heart.

 

But now.

I have found a healthy version. Not just any healthy version. THE healthy version, of Cinnabon buns. Yes, I have found it. I am very VERY excited to share this with you. SUPER EXCITED I CAN’T HIDE IT. Ok, now to the recipe!

I got this recipe from http://immaeatthat.com/. She’s now my hero!

HEALTHY CINNAMON BUNS


 

Dough:

-1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp oat flour, packed

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– scant 1/8 tsp salt

-1 Tbsp coconut oil, melted (vegetable oil will also work)

– 1 ripe banana, mashed

Filling:

– 6 – 8 dates, pitted (soak in boiling water for 5 mins to make them soft)

– 1/2 tsp cinnamon

– Optional: vanilla yogurt of choice for icing (I used greek yoghurt as a zero sugar option 🙂 )

 

Combine all the ingredients for the dough, mix well. Roll oat the dough and use a knife to slice the edges straight so you get a rectangle shape. Then add the cut off pieces to the dough. Keep rolling out and cutting the edges till you get a long rectangle shape.

Mash the dates until it forms a paste, then add cinnamon. Spread date mixture onto the dough. Cut the dough into two. Then fold each piece. Roll each piece into a ‘cinnamon bun’ shape. You may want to slice them so they form little cinnamon rolls.

Bake in the oven at 350F for about 20 mins or till the edges are firm.

Top with greek yoghurt and add a dash of maple syrup or coconut sugar for added sweetness.

 

Enjoy!

I know I did.. A LOT!

OMG.

Are you a more cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin spice kinda gal or a more vanilla, caramelly hazelnutty kinda person? I think I really like vanilla and hazelnut, but now I’m starting to warm up to cinnamon and nutmeg, ever since being in the UK! I’ve actually never like cinnamon, ever since I did the cinnamon challenge… But I only love it in food, but not too much, but I love cinnamon buns! Is that weird?

 

Facebook

Instagram

Pinterest

 

Till next time lovelies,

Tif x

20 thoughts on “Healthy Sugar Free Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

